Late Model Stock Cars

Anthony Alfredo, JRM Sweep CARS Hickory


The JR Motorsports Late Model Stock team has a new championship contender after rookie driver Anthony Alfredo swept both ends of the CARS Tour event on Saturday night at Hickory Motor Speedway in North Carolina.

Josh Berry has been Mr. Hickory in recent seasons and that looked to be the case in the first race until Lap 56 when the No. 88 blew up with an apparent engine failure.

Austin McDaniel inherited the lead and appeared to be en route to his first career series win until the final 10 laps when Alfredo started to reel in the No. 12. McDaniel gave Alfredo the inside line with 15 laps to go and the Connecticut native took full advantage of McDaniel’s gaffe.

The two stayed side-by-side for the next 15 laps, exchanged contact, with Alfredo finally completing the pass with two laps to go. From there, he cruised to his first CARS Tour victory.

“I knew we had a good car from the start, and Josh and Austin got way ahead of us,” Alfredo said in Victory Lane. “The caution came out since Josh blew a motor, and I felt terrible about that, but that caution got us back up to the front. I thought we’d be able to get rolling better on the outside, but I kind of rode with him there and started to change up my line a bit and I was able to get under him. That was good racing and the hardest I’ve ever fought, for sure, and it was a blast.

Alfredo felt like the racing with McDaniel was hard but not dirty.

“I’ve raced with Austin and he always races me clean, but it was just good racing and we were racing for the win,” Alfredo continued in response to the suggestion a payback could be coming in the second duel.  “I didn’t feel like we did anything wrong and we both race each other really hard. To win one of these races is really hard. I’m so happy, I didn’t expect it to come this soon. I knew I was with a team that was capable of it, and I’ve been learning a lot from the whole team and Josh, so to be able to do this is really awesome.”

  1. Anthony Alfredo
  2. Austin McDaniel
  3. Deac McCaskill
  4. BJ Mackey
  5. Landon Huffman
  6. Layne Riggs
  7. Dexter Canipe, Jr.
  8. Evan Swilling
  9. Brandon Grosso
  10. Jared Fryar
  11. Stefan Parsons
  12. Ty Gibbs
  13. Hayden Woods
  14. Craig Stallard
  15. Chris Davis
  16. Chris Hudspeth
  17. Annabeth Barnes-Crum
  18. Trevor Rizzo
  19. Ronald Hill
  20. Justin Johnson
  21. Josh Berry
  22. Craig Moore
  23. RD Smith

Duel No. 2

Berry was scheduled to start the second duel from the pole, but given his engine woes, he was forced to start in the tail-end as the JR Motorsports crew were remarkably able to change the engine the No. 88. McDaniel was again the benefactor as this place him on the pole for the event.

This race was all JRM as Alfredo once again stalked McDaniel, completing the pass with 10 laps to go, to sweep the night. Meanwhile, Berry charged through the entire field and finished second to secure a JR Motorsports 1-2 sweep of the evening.

By virtue of his best average finish (1.0), Alfredo locked himself into the U.S. Short Track Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway in two weeks.

“I knew I was working with the best team in the business and it was only a matter of time before we got a win together,” Alfredo said during his second visit to Victory Lane. “I thought before it was pretty early to get a win and that’s awesome, we could build on it. To do it again in the same night, two wins in one night already this year is just crazy. I’m not going to lie, I was a little nervous about how the tires were and racing with Austin as hard we did.

“All I remember hearing with two to go was that Josh was in second and I thought ‘oh, no, I’ve gotta keep going,’ but it was awesome to have a 1-2 finish for JR Motorsports.”

  1. Anthony Alfredo
  2. Josh Berry
  3. Austin McDaniel
  4. Deac McCaskill
  5. Justin Johnson
  6. Layne Riggs
  7. BJ Mackey
  8. Brandon Grosso
  9. Craig Stallard
  10. Dexter Canipe, Jr.
  11. Landon Huffman
  12. Ty Gibbs
  13. Ronald Hill
  14. Chris Davis
  15. Chris Hudspeth
  16. Evan Swilling
  17. Annabeth Barnes-Crum
  18. Hayden Woods
  19. Stefan Parsons
  20. Trevor Rizzo
  21. Jared Fryar

About Matt Weaver

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Recommended for you