Super Late Models

Jeff Choquette wins New Smyrna 100, Harrison Burton wins championship


Jeff Choquette won the battle while Harrison Burton survived to win the war.

Choquette won the PPG / Tower Sealants Super Late Model 100 while Burton captured the World Series of Asphalt championship on Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway. Choquette passed Burton for the lead on Lap 20 and led the final 80 laps uncontested to score his first victory of the season.

Meanwhile, Burton lost his brakes near Lap 50 and was forced to nurse his way through the second half of the race. He simply had to finish 12th or better to capture the championship over Spencer Davis and did so with a sixth-place result. His dad, Jeff, had to walk him through the corners while spotter Branden Lines helped him navigate oncoming traffic.

This was a mechanical problem they fought all week.

“I kept losing brakes, losing brakes, losing brakes and eventually I lost them,” Burton said. “I had to pump my brakes on the frontstretch and lift at the start-finish line. I had to use as little brake as possible. We just needed to finish. If we had crashed out, that would be a rotten way to lose a championship.”

With the crown, Burton joins the likes of Mark Martin, Dick Trickle, Pete Orr and Joe Shear as New Smyrna Speedweeks champions.

“This says a lot about Fury Race Cars and the guys that work on this car,” Burton said. “It’s been awesome. My crew chief, Chris Wimmer, works really hard and makes all the right calls. They do a good job of keeping me focused and making the right decisions — especially points racing. Shoutout to all of them.”

It’s been a solid start to the season for Burton who also won CRA Speedfest at Watermelon Capital Speedway in January.

“It’s high on my personal list for sure,” Burton said. “The competition here is incredible. We won two races and it just said a lot about where we’re at as a team right now.”

Majeski finished second and would have won back-t0-back World Series championships if not for a fuel cell disqualification on Tuesday night.

“We take responsibility for that and I feel like we proved for two weeks that we had the best car here at New Smyrna,” Majeski said. “It’s something we’re very proud of and we have something to keep with us as we get closer to the Rattler 250.”

A complete recap and the results can be found below.

  1. Jeff Choquette
  2. Ty Majeski
  3. Steve Wallace
  4. Spencer Davis
  5. Gus Dean
  6. Harrison Burton
  7. David Rogers
  8. Brad May
  9. Cole Anderson
  10. Fredrick Moore
  11. Brandon Watson
  12. Austin Nason
  13. Steve Weaver Jr
  14. Russ Shaw
  15. George Gaham
  16. Stephen Nasse
  17. Derek Kraus
  18. Tyler Dippel
  19. Garrett Hall
  20. Anthony Sergi
  21. Derek Griffith

About Matt Weaver

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Recommended for you